Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Random stuff
09-09-2009, 02:32 PM,
Random stuff
Hi, i'm new to Silgrad Tower and i recently decided that I would teach myself to 3d model. so i made some things that maybe you guys could use.

This paper lantern (this is the orange one, it also comes in green and blue)
[Image: Paperlantern.jpg]
Download: http://rapidshare.com/files/277700394/Pa...n.rar.html

And a stump with a hollow end
Download: http://rapidshare.com/files/277701031/Stump.rar.html

I dont know how to make normal maps though, whenever i try you either cant see them or they are super shiney.

criticism welcome
09-09-2009, 03:45 PM,
RE: Random stuff
The lanterns look fine Smile

I dont do much with creating assets so I cannot be much help in that area.
09-09-2009, 04:06 PM,

Hi yoplatz, and welcome to our team! Smile

Your work looks very interesting. I checked it out and, using your trunk model as an example, I noticed a few things that I want to comment on.

The first thing I noticed was that you use the old kind of mesh collision - bhkNiTriStripsShape - which tends to cause a lot of problems, especially FPS slowdowns. Are you using 3D Studio Max to export your models? If so then on the bhkRigidBodyModifier rollout, set the bounding volume radio button to Packed Strips Shape. This should make it so that a MOPP shape is exported rather than the bhkNiTriStripsShape.

I also noticed that the transforms on your NiTriStrips aren't reset. This can cause a few mild technical problems, such as the bounding box being dispositioned or scaled wrongly. The bounding box is the oddly-lit cube that appears when selecting an object in the Construction Set. To reset it, open the nif in NifSkope. Right-click on the NiTriStrips block and choose Transform > Apply.