Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lofting, and it's efficiency in collision modelling
01-19-2007, 02:04 AM,
Lofting, and it's efficiency in collision modelling
-=Download Max Scenes=- for this tutorial.

It's a 7-zip archive. 7-zip is a freeware zip program which can be downloaded from 7-zip.org. It can achieve superior compression compared to any other zip program out there.

What you need for this tutorial:
- 3D Studio Max v8.0
- NifSkope (optional)

I don't know who first discovered that lofting produced more efficient collision models. I read a comment about it on ESF, something along the lines of that "someone had gotten it to work and it was better". So I tried it out, it worked like a charm, and so I thought I'd write a tutorial. But I want to make clear that I was not the one who discovered it.

I'm not an expert, and I'm not saying that this method is the best possible way to go about this - only that it works.

WHAT IS LOFTING?
Lofting is a way of modelling based on splines. Usually you would model with modifying primitives, or create splines that are quickly converted to editable meshes, or whichever way you prefer. But by lofting a spline you're creating a threedimensional object that'll never be an editable mesh.

WHY SHOULD I LEARN TO USE IT?
Lofting splines produces more efficient collision models. In other words you can improve the performance of your models in-game, or get collision molded closer to your model without sacrificing any.

WHY IS IT MORE EFFICIENT?
Hmm. Hmmmmm... *cough*. I don't have the faintest idea Big Grin It's a fact that can be proven though, which I'll show at the end of the tutorial.

[Image: th_TutCollisionLoft_TutorialScene01.jpg]

Open TutorialScene01.max, which looks like the image above. There are two objects in the scene;

* CollisionBoxModel is, despite its name, the threedimensional object since I was creating my own collision box object during this job.