Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dialogue Simplification Idea
03-22-2010, 02:06 PM,
Dialogue Simplification Idea
I was having a conversation with TOYB the other day about dialogue in High Rock, and it occurred to me that this is relevant to Black Marsh too.

One of the problems with making dialogue specific to Black Marsh is that it is necessary to override the global scripts which produce rumours and the like, which are only relevant to Cyrodiil.

TOYB proposed creating a duplicate of each race, with identical characteristics, so that completely new dialogue can be implemented for each one without interfering at all with the vanilla dialogue. Since relatively few NPCs in BM currently have dialogue, this would still be easy to implement at this stage.

Thoughts?
Core Member of Black Marsh (Lore and Modding)

Retired Editor of Silgrad Tower

77 interiors completed and counting!
03-22-2010, 02:54 PM,

I'm not good at Dialogue, at all. I tried to make it work so I could test an NPC, and it didn't work at all. I got that "I have no greeting" message.

Soooo, I can't really comment on what I think about this approach - I'll leave the decisions to the others who know Dialogue.

KP
Yeah, don't let those little turds get you down. Dingleberries stick for a while, but eventually they fall off. Cool
03-22-2010, 03:09 PM,

I have similar problems getting Dialogue to work. However, I believe that this approach will avoid many of the problems.

03-22-2010, 04:02 PM,

Rumours are generated through quests with INFOGENERAL topics.
Conversation dialogue (HELLO, GOODBYE etc.), Combat dialogue and so on is arranged through the generic quests.

Duplicating races will disable the majority of the vanilla rumours/generic dialogue.
There is also a set of dialogue that only uses a class condition --> It will be displayed, heard. Another set has no conditions. --> It will be displayed, heard.

ST implemented another system because we already used NPC's with vanilla races.