Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Claim Zero - the Height Map is finished
10-24-2008, 02:53 PM,
Claim Zero - the Height Map is finished
Hi everyone.

I could see that nobody was free to do our heightmap modifications for us, so I learnt how to use that part of the CS and did it myself! The file can be downloaded here:

http://rapidshare.com/files/157125906/Ak...1.rar.html

I'm not very good at using the terrain editor, so the landscape made turned out very exaggerated, but actually I think I like the way it ended up. The island now has a very dramatic landscape - much more so than anything in Oblivion so far.

It looks like one of the very volcanic Pacific islands, like the Galapagos Archipelago. The whole island is covered in ridges, peaks, volcanic craters and very steep (but climbable) mountains, between which are deep valleys we can fill with forests. I think this will make a great backdrop to the struggle between the Empire and the Tsaesci, as well as giving it that "exotic" and "far away from Tamriel" look it needs.

The island is also much larger than I thought it would be. There is easily enough space to put an entire Imperial/Akaviri town on the Imperial half of the island, as well as including as many caves and dungeons as we like.

I've thought about the town and I suggest we make it in a "colonial" style - a mixture of the Japanese-looking buildings made for the project and vanilla Imperial ones, to suggest that the two cultures have been mixing on the island since the Imperial conquest. Makes it more interesting and varied.

I have added in a ship at the beach for scale and a very rough rock bridge over the chasm to give a point of reference. I have also very roughly painted the landscape with different textures to mark out the boundaries of the different "fine" landscaping claims.

I have not updated the LOD files, because I don't know how. In any case, we can always do it later, since they will change as we add other things anyway.